Greater Region

The Greater Region is an area of cross-border cooperation between:

  • the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg,
  • Germany: Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
  • France: Lorraine (Grand Est Region)
  • Belgium: Wallonia, Wallonia-Brussels Federation, German-speaking Community

This collaboration, initiated in 1995, is the heir of the SarLorLux entity, created in 1971. The first summit of Greater Region executives took place in Mondorf-les-Bains in 1995.

The Greater Region covers a total area of 65,401 km² and has 11.6 million inhabitants. It is characterised by large flows of cross-border workers and consumers. With a movement of approximately 250,000 cross-border workers, 200,000 of whom go to Luxembourg, the Greater Region is the largest cross-border labour market in the European Union.

The rotating presidency of the Summit is held by each region in turn for a period of 24 months. The current chairmanship of the Greater Region Summit is held by Grand Est until January 2023.

These summits, meetings at the highest political level, aim to give new impetus to cross-border and interregional cooperation within the Greater Region. Each Summit gives rise to resolutions to be implemented jointly in various fields such as transport, training, employment, health, safety, tourism, etc.

Some concrete examples of cross-border projects

Many other projects and actions exist. You will find all the information you need on the Greater Region on its internet platform.

Last update